



Transport Department -Establishment of Motor Vehicles Department - Opening of Eight New Sub Regional Transport Offices-Creation of additional posts-Sanctioned -Orders Issued.

TRANSPORT (C) DEPARTMENT

G.O. (Ms) No.61/2012/Trans. Dated, Thiruvananthapuram, 09.10.2012

Read:- 1. G.O.(MS) No.83/2010/Trans dated 13.12.2010.

2. Letter No A1-2768/TC/2012 dated 14.06.2012 and 25.6.2012 from the Transport Commissioner

ORDER

The Estimates Committee (2001-2004) in its 9th report had recommended for the opening of New Sub Regional Transport Offices in 10 Taluks where no Sub Regional Transport Offices were sanctioned. As per the Government Order read as 1st paper above sanction was accorded for starting new Sub Regional Transport Offices in Kunnathur, Ranni, Thirurangadi Taluks and also at Angamaly and Chalakkudy. Now the Taluks of Udumbanchola, Nilambur, Devikulam, Mananthavadi, Sulthanbathery, Kuttanadu, and Chittur do not have a Sub Regional Transport Office.

The Transport Commissioner vide letters read as 2nd paper above has proposed to open new Sub Regional Transport Offices in the aforesaid Taluks and one at Uzhavoor. The Transport Commissioner has reported that vehicle population has been increased in Uzhavoor, where there was a Sub Regional Transport Office which was shifted to Vaikom. For opening each Sub Regional Transport Office the Transport Commissioner has proposed to create 18 posts of

various categories which requires the creation of 144 posts altogether for eight Sub Regional Transport Offices as indicated below:

Sl. No.	Name of Post	No:of posts per Office	Total for 8 Offices
1	Joint RTO	1	8
2	Motor Vehicles Inspector	1	8
3	Jr. Superintendent.	1	8
4	Assistant Motor Vehicles Inspector	2	16
5	HA/HC	1,700	8
6	UD Clerks	3	24
7	LD Clerks	3	24
8	Typists	1	8
9	Attender	1	8
10	Drivers	1.9 2 1	8
11	Peons	2	16
12	Sweeper	1	8
	Total	18	144

Government have examined the proposal in detail. As the functioning of the above eight new Sub Regional Transport Offices are found essential for the revenue collection, strengthening of enforcement mechanism and rendering improved service to the public sanction is accorded for opening eight Sub Regional Transport Offices in seven Taluks viz Udumbanchola, Nilambur, Devikulam, Mananthavadi, Sulthanbathery, Kuttanadu, and Chittur and at Uzhavoor and for the creation of the above 144 additional posts.

By order of the Governor ELIAS GEORGE ADDITIONAL CHIEF SECRETARY

To

The Transport Commissioner, Thiruvananthapuram
The Accountant General (A&E, Audit, D.B.Cell), Kerala, Thiruvananthapuram
The Finance Department

(Vide U.O.No.85477/Ind&PWA1/12/Fin dated 8.10.12)
The Public Relations (New Media Division)Department,
For publishing in the Print Media and Official Website
General Administration (SC) Department

Stock File / Office Copy.

Forwarded/By Order

Section Officer